top of page
Search
  • silverelement66

Feeling Your Reflection

Today is, well would've been my mother’s 58th birthday... and the passing of this day and has given me a myriad of emotions. I used to wonder when she was alive where she was, who she was with, was she thinking about her children? I always felt the passing of this day, no matter where I was, no matter what I was doing. Recently I have been feeling that when I look in the mirror I see her looking back at me, and the glitter of my tears reflects the sadness of what I am not dealing with.


Have you ever really paid attention to your reflection? Not your hair, clothes, or even that annoying pimple you can’t pop or cover up with make-up, but deeper... inside the depths of your eyes where all your secrets lie and the true you that is lurking right beneath the surface. I bet most of you haven’t, or maybe just a small percentage, and some of you have noticed those small traits passed onto you from your parents. Maybe you love them, maybe you don’t like them, or maybe your so-so on the matter.


For me it feels like my reflection is her. Hell I had to change my hair to feel different. I want to not be her. I want to look at my reflection and just feel like me... and not want to always break it so that the pain will stop.


I don’t see her anymore... although I do hear her in my laugh, she is there in my pale skin complexion, and her DNA is my DNA, her darkness is my darkness... but her legacy is not mine. What I choose to do next is my own, and I choose to walk towards the light.


“Oh my dear don’t you know?“

”You might be shattered,”

”But even broken glass still glitters in the light”

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lightning ⚡️

Inspiration sparks at the oddest times, and sometimes it finds you in different ways. A person, a book, an idea, a dream, or maybe some street art catches your eye and your like “darn, that’s some typ

Tears & Sunshine

It’s complicated when your sad about something that doesn’t warrant your pity or even basic human empathy. You feel guilty for not being sad, but then when you are filled with emotion a weird sense of

Inner Fire 🔥

Burning in the inferno of my own mind My own sanity I hope to find Crackling and writhing under my skin; I can feel the flames How the fire likes to dance & play it’s scathing games Oh how it thinks i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page